First full day in Taos for 2015


Our first full day in Taos! And it was lovely.

Hal and I went to breakfast. It wasn’t great, but who cared? It was here, in Taos. Then, we geared up and rode out to the rally. On the way, I noticed the more obvious signs of autumn, different from other years because we were a week later than we usually are. With Labor Day late this year, it pushed the rally a week later as well. It was nice to see more leaves beginning to change. It made New Mexico even prettier than it usually is, and even more deserving of the name “The Land of Enchantment.”

We checked in at the rally, talked to the people there, and just by chance, I saw a perforated leather jacket that one of the club members had for sale. It fit me perfectly, so I bought it for $25. I have been looking for a perforated leather jacket. I am sick of the floppy textile mesh jackets that I have, and I have to wonder how much protection they would actually be in a wreck. It was funny, before I left for the rally, I had been thinking maybe someone will have the perfect used jacket for sale. And there it was. As a bonus, it belonged to Jan, who is a friend, so it worked out great for both of us.

Hal and I checked in, I got a couple of t-shirts, then we walked around the vendor area. We ran into another friend, Voni, and we started the usual multi-day conversation that takes place at this rally.

Before we left, Hal and I had been trying to figure out how I was going to get back to Duran, NM to take the images from there that I wanted, but logistically, it wasn’t a practical plan (too far from Taos for a day trip). I was disappointed, but agreed to go back to Talpa instead and shoot some IR images. I have wanted to shoot the Talpa Tavern for the last eight years, so we rode two-up on my bike so I could. The tavern is slowly disintegrating, and I wanted to try to portray it before it is gone.

Later, I still wasn’t satisfied that I had captured the “feeling” that I’d wanted, but that is another story.

After shooting old adobe buildings for a while, we went back to the rally site and listened to Voni’s presentation about the year (1999) that she rode 73,000 miles in six months. “And the rest is history,” as they say. Now she has logged over a million miles on BMW motorcycles, and is going for her second million! She is amazing.

Paul, her husband, then followed her presentation with a discussion about mechanical difficulties of different models of BMW motorcycles. It was an interesting and informative discussion. I love gear-head stuff.

“Does this motorcycle make my a$$ look fast?” (seriously, I am not this fat!) The front of the lodge is in front of me:

As the afternoon got later, we rode our bikes back to town in order to get ready for dinner with a group of friends. We again rode two-up to dinner (I don’t like riding through town in Taos, it’s always so busy), and met the seven other people at the Love Apple, an organic food restaurant. It was weird food in weird combinations, in my opinion, but we went for the conversation and for the chance to hang out with people we rarely get to socialize with. One nice thing was the French press coffee we had after the meal. I could have done with just that and dessert. After three hours, we finished, and rode back to our hotel for the evening.

We talked to many people today, listened to many stories. I continue to be intrigued by the personalities of people in general. As my sage riding partner said, “Some people don’t care about anything, they see objects, and other people, as tools. It’s all about them. Nothing really matters to them except themselves. Those people are the ones who make millions of dollars.”

And that’s why we will never be rich. If we ever get to ride around the world, it will be on a shoestring budget. That’s if we get to. Sadly, I see that opportunity slipping further away every day.

Next: the best rally day

Leave a Reply

