A “new” GS girl


I’ve dreamed of this bike for a long time. At first, it was in dreams while asleep. Then it was in waking dreams, ones where I somehow always envisioned a blue BMW F650GS twin beneath me as I traveled long miles.

Today I brought home a new-to-me 2009 BMW F650GS, a bike I test rode back in late 2007, and have thought off and on about buying since.

I’ve been wanting to be on this bike since the last riding season officially ended with the Taos trip last September. I longed to make the road sing under my wheels again the way it did on my first trip riding the 2006 F650GS. Those were golden days.

It’s not that I haven’t enjoyed riding the bikes I’ve been riding the past few years. My F800ST was lean and swift, flying over the roads. Then, the dirt bikes were tough and adaptable in rough terrain. In the winter, I would ride the GS in all kinds of weather – rain, wind, sleet, snow, fog, and cold. But then something changed. I wanted to consolidate, and combine the F800ST and the GS into one bike, which led to the acquisition of the GS twin. Now I have only dual sport motorcycles in my “stable,” and I never will have to worry about missing out on a dirt riding opportunity, wherever I am.

So, now I must go through the process of setting up this bike for the way I like to ride. It takes some time, but in the long run it is worth it for comfort on the road, mile after mile of endless lovely roads. And this summer, that is where I want to be for most of the time, on the road. I’ve had three summers of riding in the White Mountains, which I have loved, but it’s time to do some big miles again.

I am ready.

Leave a Reply

