As the Globe turns


Globe, AZ 3-30-14

Sunday, Hal and I were again on the small dual sport motorcycles. I can’t seem to stay away from mine; in fact, I don’t think I’ve ever enjoyed a motorbike as much as I have this little Kawasaki KLX250S. Instead of feeling apprehensive about going into the dirt as I have on the GS, I eagerly await it on the KLX, and now ride happily and quickly onto the part of the road marked “pavement ends.”

It was another late start day, though. I think both of us work so hard during the work week that sleeping in a little bit is necessary. I am always totally stressed this time of year, and I can’t wait for the school year to be over. In fact, Hal and I were discussing summer trip ideas while eating breakfast. It’s never too early to plan!

At Buckboard; Hal is on the porch using his phone:

Breakfast was at the Buckboard Restaurant in Superior, and it is always good. We ended up being there too long, mostly because Hal was trying to solve a work crisis from his cell phone, and I was talking to a couple of riders, each on their own bikes. I was drawn to them because the woman, Kath, was on a BMW F650GS that turned out to be the same year as mine, a 2006. Hers was clean and nice, not all dirty and “used and loved” looking, like mine. Lee, her husband, was on a Triumph, and we talked to them about their adventures riding in India, and to Deadhorse, Alaska. The Alaska trip is one I’ve wanted to do for a long time. It’s on the “Bucket List.”

Our plan for our ride was to find a road we have wanted to find/ride for a long time. The idea was almost like a treasure hunt – we only had a few hints to go on, for example, we knew it went south from Globe, and we knew it was at the end of one of the paved streets in town. We were hoping to find it from the Globe end because we had been on the south part of it a long time ago and had never made it to Globe.

As we went about the hunt, we followed some signs that had us taking strange meandering routes through the small mining towns of Miami, Claypool, and Globe, which is basically one “town.” We went through funky neighborhoods, industrial-looking areas, and past a weird cemetery. All these sights made me want to come back soon with my big DSLR camera to shoot the amazing things I saw.

I also saw some hilarious graffiti as I was creeping through the streets. When I said it out loud inside my helmet, I started laughing so hard that I almost had to pull over. My eyes scrunched shut and tears were running down my cheeks. Yes, this is how I amuse myself, by talking to myself; there’s no one else to talk to while on the bike. I think it was just the way I said it that made me laugh so hard; either that or it was one of those “you had to be there” things. When I told Hal about it later, he laughed, too. Thank goodness, it meant I’m not completely crazy. Or, maybe we are just in the same crazy together …

Ketchup and Mustard, finally on FR112:

View from on top:

The road leading up there:

We finally found the right paved road, after wasting time and gas roaming aimlessly around Globe. By this time, we had also used up hours of our riding day. We got five miles in on FR112, stopped to take photos, and Hal said, “well, it’s 3:00 already. If we want to get back reasonably early, we should turn around now.” That sucked, because after all the riding we did today (176 miles), I think we only did about 10 miles of dirt! To be fair, we knew that might happen, since we were “exploring.” When we go back, though, we will know exactly which route to take and won’t waste so much time. It was a fact-finding mission! 😉 I think we should also eat a granola bar before we leave, and get busy riding instead of burning time eating eggs and bacon at our usual places!

Hal and I both had to get home in time to do “stuff” for work, so we had to reserve some time at the end of the day. This is yet another reason that I so badly want to retire soon. I can’t see wasting any more of my life being dictated to by a job. There are too many places in this world that I want to experience from the seat of a motorcycle, and I am going to miss out on a lot of it, I am sure, because time keeps slipping away.

So, we dutifully turned around and rode back to Globe. At least we were able to do our good deed for the day when we stopped for a quick break at the Shell station – while we were there, we helped some people push their disabled pickup truck out of the way of traffic. After that, we finished our cup of coffee, and then we were on the way home for the day.

We fought a strong head wind all the way home. I never can understand how the wind is such a big factor out on the road, and by the time I get home, it’s only a gentle breeze. In this case, it must be the venturi effect through the canyon on US60. The wind seems to race through, carrying the smell of burning truck brakes as we descend through the tunnel then twist through the curved, steep road to Superior. Later, we also fought the Renaissance Festival traffic, as we had last week, but fortunately, that was the last day of it until next year.

I got home by 5-ish, in time to finish what I needed to for work on Monday. But, the more times I ride my KLX, the more I want to be out there on the dirt roads, away from civilization, thinking about nothing but riding, and being in the moment.

The road beckons:

 

3 thoughts on “As the Globe turns

  1. I like the photo at the end of the empty road calling you back. It is a nice shot, and a fun sentiment.

    I am guessing the graffiti you read is not family friendly since you did not share it. Either way, I like those types of clever sentiment when they are well done. Speaking of well done, good post.

    • Thanks, Randy. Yes, the graffiti wasn’t really very “nice,” so even if I take a photo of it, I will block out the name that is in it. But I probably won’t post it because it’s a rude remark.
      We hope to go back out to that area this weekend and ride the road from one end to the other, and then ride home through Kearny.

Leave a Reply

