Weeding


Weeds: the “bane of my existence,” at least for today

There is something satisfying about weeding the lawn or garden. It has something to do with getting rid of the plants that don’t belong, plants that keep the other, beneficial plants from thriving. Oh, the symbolism.

Doing something mindless gives me time to think. This being the first day of spring break, it gave me time think about and plan the rest of my week. It also gave me time to organize (somewhat) the beginning of a book I think I want to write, and also make a mental list of the things I want to accomplish. I don’t want to miss anything. But it’s only a week, and I am also trying not to make the amount of tasks impossible because if the list is too long, I will be almost as stressed as being at work. Well, not quite. Well, okay, not even close.

I worked on and off all day, pulling the weeds from the lawn. Some of them had been “hit” with herbicide, but most survived. I don’t want any more chemicals sprayed in an area where our dog, Emma, walks daily. At least the weeds were easy to pull out, thanks to the rain over the weekend. When I wasn’t pulling weeds, I was working on cleaning the pool filter cartridges. They were filthy, filled with dirt and sand from the numerous dust storms last summer. It will take a couple of rounds of washing to get them clean.

All this cleaning has made me feel very ordered, as in restoring order to chaos. With so many things going on, it is nice to have a day of doing one thing at a time (roughly), and getting several things accomplished, even though it might not be readily apparent when looking at the lawn in its present state. At least I know progress was made, and it was a small satisfaction to me that I didn’t even leave the property all day. Sometimes things just get too crazy being involved in so many things and doing so many activities.

Maybe I should considering weeding some of them out.

4 thoughts on “Weeding

  1. Nice ending sentence, my friend. I do not know if you were working towards that summation all along or it was happenstance. I did not see it coming and it made me smile to apply your seemingly mindless activity as symbolic of a cleanup we all should employ.

    • Hi Tammy,
      Thanks for asking. First, there is the book about the effects of the Wallow fire in the White Mountains (I’ve been working on it for a couple of years now), and then I want to put something together of my mom’s memories as a memorial to her. I will either self-publish, or find a publisher who will take either or both.

      – Jo

Leave a Reply

