Rough living


It struck me on our last trip up north how differently people live up in the high country where they have four seasons. They drive big four-wheel drive trucks, suitable for getting through snow, and for hauling big loads. They dress for outdoor activities, big boots, and jeans, and worn outerwear. During the late summer and fall, they are collecting firewood, and laying in supplies to last through the winter. They are also mindful of keeping enough food on hand in case they are snowed in. Big grocery stores are non-existent there, so travel is involved each time more than a few supplies are needed. Life is a lot more difficult because things that those of us who live in the suburban areas take for granted aren’t as easily and readily available. There is never a shortage of work to  do.

For me it is like going back in time to when I lived on a “farm” in Wisconsin. It wasn’t an actual farm, but we had horses, and had to deal with the extreme cold and snow in the winters, but we never had to worry about gathering firewood and doing things to ensure our survival. Aside, of course, from having enough food in the house in case we were actually snowed in for any length of time. That never happened, though.

It is also ironic that now I love the outdoors so much and would like to have a job where I would get to work outside. Whenever we are up in the high country, I want to stay there. If I ever found a place and reason to stay up there, a job for example, I would have to think long and hard about coming back.

2 thoughts on “Rough living

  1. On the other hand living there and looking out at the outdoors and knowing you could not be out in it since you had to work would drive you equally as crazy

    • Yes, but I could always get a job where I get to work outside at least part of the time! 🙂 I’d like to be one of the forest service people who get to ride around in the green trucks all day long and check on things. And I wouldn’t mind doing the “heavy” work that I am sure would be involved sometimes.

Leave a Reply

