Revisionist history


For a break tonight, I thought I would respond to one of the “daily writing prompts” that are offered. BTW, I am glad they are back after an absence of almost a year. Some days are just not very inspiring on their own, and this week I seem to be less inspired than usual. I haven’t even had time to take my camera out and shoot something – anything – this week. Maybe tomorrow.

Here’s the prompt for the day:

Go back in time to an event you think could have played out differently for you. Let alternate history have its moment: tell us what could, would or should have happened?

At the risk of sounding ungrateful, which I am not, I am going to travel back in time to my pre-teen years, when our family was about to have our lives changed by moving from a civilized suburb of Milwaukee, WI, to “hickville,” a small town farther away from Milwaukee. This small town was one of those places that if you weren’t born there, you were an outsider. In addition to the attitude problem, the schools were absolutely awful, in my opinion. I had to deal with going to junior high, which was awkward enough without having to be a “new kid,” and then high school, which was terrible.

In hindsight, there is one time that I wish things would have gone differently, an event that could have changed the course of my life forever. Before we moved, our family visited a store that happened to have snowmobiles. I always wish that my dad had bought one of those snowmobiles and let me learn to ride it. Then, even if I’d still had to move, at least I would have had a “leg up” into the motorsports world. If I’d learned to ride a snowmobile, I would have learned to ride a dirt bike, and maybe we could have gotten into motorsports instead of horses, which were super-expensive. I think I would have gotten a lot more enjoyment out of the snowmobiles, and maybe it would have led to dirt bikes.

It sure would have saved my parents a lot of money, and I always feel guilty about how much money they put into the horse hobby, which led absolutely nowhere.  If I’d been a motorcycle rider, maybe I would have even “fit in” better with the other kids at Horrible High. If not, I would have at least known that I was tougher than any of them. I might have had more opportunities to have a satisfying career as well. I didn’t find out until much later that I was a “gear head,” and maybe I could have capitalized on that.

I know I certainly get a lot of enjoyment out of my motorcycles now, whether I ride them on the road or in the dirt. Even though I came late in life to most of the two-wheeled sports I participate in now, I am still better at them than most people. Just think how much better I’d be if I’d started young. I am hoping to learn to ride a snowmobile, or “snow machine” as I think they are called now, this winter, if I get to go to Alpine again during the snow season.

I know hindsight is always perfect sight, as they say, but I would really like to go back and change things. I’d be a violinist/budding motorsports superstar. But, who knows why things happen the way they do? I might have gotten injured or killed doing all the crazy sports I wanted to do.

But I highly doubt it.

One thought on “Revisionist history

  1. Interesting subject. Having thought about it a little, I have decided that I would not change a thing however there is some information that I feel could have been fed to me as a child/teenager that would have prepared me better for adult life and decision making. I was a very bad student all the way through primary and secondary school and as such was constantly told I was stupid. “dunderhead” was the word used. However 40 years later an old teacher told me that she knew I was “clever” and it was just that I had other things to do.

Leave a Reply

