Mad writing


Ah, November. The sound of fingers flying over keyboards, or the sound of pencils scratching madly over paper. It is National Novel Writing Month, or NaNoWriMo, as it’s affectionately known. The rules are simple: you write, and write, and write. The goal is to make it to 50,000 words by November 30, and have a rough draft of a novel with which you can work the rest of the year. The idea is to get the 50,000 words done by just writing. In other words, go for it, do not worry about going back and editing. At least until January, that is.

As I wrote earlier this week, if you do the math, a participant must write approximately 1667 words each day to make the goal. This is extremely difficult for me as I try to fulfill all the other responsibilities I have, and it also extremely difficult as I usually must try to concentrate with many distractions in the house. Tonight I made myself not unload the dishwasher even though it was driving me insane that it hadn’t been emptied all day. Something’s gotta give, as they say, and that was it.

It is kind of relaxing to sit and write, though, each night. It would be a lot more fun if I didn’t have to make a quota, but that is part of the challenge. The most pleasant thing about it is instead of reading a story, I get to write it myself, and it is a story I am interested in. It gets to the point that it almost writes itself, takes on a life of its own, the characters start telling their own story. It doesn’t always happen this way, but when it does, it’s amazing.

So, I sit every night and either blog, or this month, write “the novel.” However, it’s late as I write this, and I am nodding off after a long day at work, so I think I will have to give in to sleep tonight. I think it might have something to do with the first cold fall storm moving in, and if I’m really lucky, I will get to drop off to the sound of raining drumming on the roof. I might actually be able to hear it, lacking the usual incessant running of the cooler.

Happy reading, happy writing, and happy sleeping. Most of all, though, happy fall weather. Maybe cool weather has arrived at last.

Leave a Reply

