Happy Halloween, 2012!


Having fun, dressed up for the trick-or-treaters:

Neighbors’ cool house:

I remember sitting here at the kitchen counter a year ago, writing my story about last year’s Halloween on the blog. A lot has changed since then, not all of it good.

I remember talking to my mom on the phone that night, telling her about all the crazy things that were going on in the neighborhood. For example, driving around to see if the kids were out yet and seeing a llama in the middle of the road, his tether untied. He seemed very unconcerned. I think she thought that was funny in a whimsical sort of way. Little did I know I would soon be without my mom. That has been the most terrible thing about this year. I still think I don’t quite “get” that, that I halfway expect her to come back soon. I wish she would. I miss her every single day.

Last year this time, I was also getting ready to start NaNoWriMo for the first time. If you don’t know what that is, here is the link:

http://www.nanowrimo.org

Basically, participants write a “novel” during the month of November. You are supposed to write 50,000 words by Nov. 30, which breaks down to 1667 words per day. You don’t edit, you just write. Theoretically, you are supposed to go back and edit from January onward, but last year after I was done with the 50,000 words, I didn’t like what I wrote so I never did anything with it. This year I am more organized, have things “thought through” and outlined a little better than last year, so we’ll see. At first, I was not going to do the NaNoWriMo writing again, but then I thought, “why not? I only have 9 million things going, what’s one more??” Most of you enjoy the photo posts more than any other kind, judging from the data. This month with all the writing I will be doing outside of here, photography posts will probably dominate! 🙂 Thoughts on that anyone??

Speaking of numbers, my blog reached a total of 20,000 hits today! Thanks to you, my faithful readers, this blog has now been read over 20,000 times! That’s pretty good for a non-celebrity like me. I am amazed. I have never been on the “Freshly Pressed” feature, and I don’t expect to be (they don’t like me). But that’s okay. I try to make this a decent blog, and I seem to be entertaining enough for at least a few loyal readers.

Thank you so much!!! I really appreciate that you read and look at my blog. I am looking forward to coming up with new things to write about, or shoot with my camera. I hope it will be a better year ahead.

Happy Halloween!!

Leave a Reply

