October 11


For me and my dad, today was a strange sad day. The date has become kind of an unofficial holiday now, a day of commemoration for us. I mentioned last night that it’s my mother’s birthday, it would have been her 87th, and  it is our first without her. I had to work, and Dad remembered her in his own way, but we were together in spirit as we both thought of her all day. I think he had to be on his own, and I didn’t want to intrude.

Today was the kind of changeable day that I love, that I always think that my mother loved. It is quite possibly “the day the weather changed” here in the Valley. The winds kicked up, the clouds came in, and the sunset was spectacular:

A big white cloud flashed with lightning:

Later, there were a few short bursts of rain, and some flashes of lightning. It was a spectacular evening, beautiful, dynamic weather, and the excitement of cool weather to come. It was tempered by the hole in my life where my mom used to be.

I wanted my mom to be here, to wish her happy birthday. It’s terrible how much we take our parents for granted until they are gone.

2 thoughts on “October 11

  1. In my case my father took me for granted until he was at deaths door. It was the only time he told me that he was proud of me. As a result, I make sure my children know exactly what I think of them.

    • I hope it’s all good. Kids are precious. I don’t have any of my own (my choice), but I love my school kids a lot. The best thing is that there are a lot of them from 13 years of teaching, and most of them come back to me eventually and let me know how their lives are going. I love seeing them again.

Leave a Reply

