Finding peace


Wind sculpture at the riparian center

***

Though I wanted desperately to ride the K trails again this morning, I had to settle for canals and greenbelts in the interest of time. I was afraid I’d run out of it at the end of the day, and as it turned out, it was a good call.

I slept in, and that was part of the problem, but I needed some rest. I finally crawled out just a little before 8, and got ready to ride. I knew it wasn’t going to be the kind of hard workout I wanted, but it was still good. I put on my headphones and got going to some old Metallica. Sometimes heavy metal music is what I want and need.

I got into the “zone” after a while. I chose a route different from the usual one, and even though I met several people, I stayed in my own workout, focused because of the music. The only rude people I met were a couple of “entitled”-type blonde women, taking up almost the whole path, riding beach cruisers and not wearing helmets. I thought they were candidates for wearing the t-shirt I made up for that type of person that says “It’s all about ME because I LOVE myself so much.” Honestly, I’ve never met a more rude group of people than 30-ish women brainwashed by the dominant social-religious group in our area. If they only knew how much contempt thinking people have for them. It makes me laugh to myself.

I switched to Evanescence on the iPod as I pedaled home. I passed less people because I had been out some time by then. It suited me because I am basically a quiet person and don’t feel like interacting with others when I am working out. I started to get drawn into the music, which can be a little dark. Ahead of me, I saw some crows land on the fence next to the path, and as I approached, they took off one by one, in a weird flight choreographed almost perfectly to the music I was listening to. It was a dream-like sequence, a moment of awe and transcendence.

I returned home calmer, washed clean of the work week left behind. I breathed a sigh of relief, put my bike away, and went on with my day. Peace at last, at least for a little while.

Leave a Reply

