An evening of positive thought


After a hard day at work and its mind-numbing lack of logic and sense, I was relieved to go to Art Intersection tonight for my first class of “Taking Your Work to the Next Level.” What is it, you ask?

It is a group of artists and mentors that get together to critique and help advance each other’s work. Tonight was introductions all around, and I was blown away by the quality of work that was shown. How will I fare in such heady company?? Some work was beautiful, some poignant, some followed an interesting theme. Mine is … well, I don’t know what it is. For me, it just “is,” which is why I am in the class. I need critical (in a positive way) eyes on it, sound advice, and motivation to advance in an artistic sense, so I can go forward with some of the projects I am working on, one in particular.

I think it is an interesting group of people from all different walks of life and backgrounds. Everyone seems respectful and thoughtful, and as I listened to the artists, mainly photographers, around me as they talked to the group and to each other, I learned a lot already.

I will be in class on Thursday nights from now until the end of November. It is not every Thursday night, but almost. Some weeks are for working outside class.

I am looking forward to learning and growing as an artist.

One thought on “An evening of positive thought

  1. That sounds like an interesting class. And since it lasts almost three months, you’ll have time to really act on what you learn to improve your eye for shots, your composition, and your presentation. It’s good that you are taking the initiative to grow and learn about one of your passions. I should do something, too. Instead, I’ll learn vicariously through your blog. Good luck.

Leave a Reply

