The land of enchantment


I was all set to do a “rally recap” post today. But then I realized I had already said all the obvious things about going to Taos, NM. The fact is that for me it is a mystical place, a place where my imagination runs wild, and where I can believe that maybe someday the things I dream about just might come true.

It’s not that I think if I move there, everything will turn out neatly and happily, like in a made for TV movie. It has more to do with the state of mind than the state of being. All I have to do is look at the Cimarron mountain range in its purple gray majesty far in the distance, and the always-present rain as I cross the Taos Plateau, and I know I am in what is my idea of heaven.

My riding partner and I have talked about going to New Mexico, Taos mainly, for an extended stay during one of the vacations, but it won’t be the same. I love the fall weather, the cool or cold weather, and the strong possibility of rain. Then, there is the rally, and of course, all of the spectacular riding in the area.

The only solution is to have extra time to stay longer on this trip. That is the goal for next year, along with other, unrelated goals that I hope will change my life for the better. I hope all these things together will make next year’s trip a long and memorable one. I want to go, and stay longer in the Land of Enchantment.

2 thoughts on “The land of enchantment

  1. I think the same sort of thing about Ouray, CO. I love, love it, but actually living there would probably get boring (my heart says, “No way” while my mind acknowledges “Yes, way.”). And of course, the winters would be just a bit different than we face here. Still, as you said, it is a state of mind. It is a dream I can carry in my heart, though.

    POTD: I like that river shot. Is that the Chama River?

    • No, it’s the Rio Pueblo, and it runs right along the edge of Sipapu Ski area, where the rally is held each year. I know, it’s so beautiful, isn’t it? No wonder I hate leaving so much.

Leave a Reply

