Dancin’ shoes


Split soles

In my quest to find the best dancing shoes for Zumba classes, last December I bought the split sole shoes shown above. Not only were they kind of weird looking, they flexed too much, they slipped on the workout floor too much, and they caused me to have more tendon problems than ever.

I should mention that I have been doing these high-impact aerobics/dancing kind of workouts since about 1983. My feet are trashed. The first bout of tendonitis was because of shoes, and apparently, this round of tendonitis (different tendons) has been caused by shoes as well.

I don’t know what I was thinking. I should not have gone away from using Asics shoes, which I have had a lot of success with. I have not had any tendon problems for 20 years and I don’t know why I tried shoes other than Asics. I should have just gotten some of their cross trainers because I really only needed some lateral support. Instead I thought that the dance shoes would have that, but I didn’t take into consideration too much flexibility (no support) mid-shoe.

I’ve been away from dancing for about two weeks now trying to get my feet back to something less than constant pain (from what I think is plantar fasciitis). I am almost there. Today I got my new shoes that I ordered online. I bought them with the hope that they might help fix the pain. They are Asics Gel Rhythmic dance shoes. Here they are:

Ahhhh! Brand new Asics, at last

From this angle, you can see that the soles have a more logical shape:

Some real “sole”!

If these don’t work, I am going to try cross trainers. The Asics Gel Plexus cross trainers look like a good alternative, and I’d love to go buy some of those as well, but as much as I might want to, I can’t go out and buy as many Asics shoes as I think I need. I would like a closet full of them.

I’ll keep you posted on what happens with the Rhythmics. The quest for the perfect shoe is something I am not alone in. Keep your fingers crossed, I’m planning on dancing tomorrow!

2 thoughts on “Dancin’ shoes

  1. I understand how the right support makes all the difference. My plantars are fasciited, too. So, I always use inserts, no matter which shoes I wear. It is no fun getting old, huh?

    • Seriously. I have inserts in my shoes as well. You can actually see in the photos of the new shoes that I already put them in. 🙂

      I don’t know if it’s really “getting old,” or just working out a lot. I know some young people who have just as many issues with finding the correct shoes as I do.

Leave a Reply

