Daily rant: ads and commercials


I don’t know about you, but I am tired of advertising in every shape and form. From the endless commercials on TV to the in-your-face pop-up ads on the internet, I am sick of it. In fact, I usually ignore it, look away from the screen, and I always have the sound off on my computer unless I really want to hear a specific thing. I hit the “mute” button on the TV and pick up a book when the ads come on, and I wouldn’t buy or use any product or service that is advertised in an obnoxious way (that is all of them, by the way).

I am so glad that next year the sound on TV commercials has to be the same volume level as the program (sometimes I don’t hit the “mute” button quick enough). It should have been that way to begin with, but better late than never. I hate noise and all the over-the-top, exaggerated situations portrayed in advertising. Whatever happened to the promise of commercial-free programming when cable first came out? We are still being subjected to endless commercials, and now they are even louder and more obnoxious than ever. Plus, there are so many of them that by the time you are returned to the program, you have almost forgotten what it was about.

Then there is the constant barrage of unsolicited phone calls from more scammers, whether you are on the national “Do not call” list or not. They don’t care, they will bug you anyway.

I have been limiting my time on the internet lately, and also watching TV because of all the advertising. No one can escape it, except by hitting the mute button, and I don’t think that’s right.

I think it’s long past time for advertising in general to tone it down. There is only so much a person can take, and after a while, it has little effect anyway. I am capable of making up my own mind about what I want to buy or use, and no amount of loud annoying ads will make me change it.

2 thoughts on “Daily rant: ads and commercials

  1. Sorry. I had to take a break reading your post to clean my filthy screen using my “Amazing Sham Wow! I holds 10 times its own weight in liquids!” Anyway, I don’t think TV ads influence me at all. I had been looking for a gecko-friendly, “15% or more” saving car insurance company for years when GEICO started using a gecko as their spokesman.

    Actually, we record all programs and watch them on our DVR, skipping commercials.We never watch live.

    • I agree about the DVR. We do the same, recording most shows and FF through all the stupid commercials. It’s funny how an “hour long” show will take about 40 min. to watch when you get rid of all the commercials, isn’t it? Hmmmm. Occasionally, though, there is something on that is worth watching (not often) and then it is really tough to brave all the ads. As I said, then I hit the “mute” button and pick up a book!

Leave a Reply

