Random thoughts


Moon over Alpine

I don’t know what to think lately, especially today.

I woke up this morning in my own bed, which I initially thought was wonderful. Then I thought about the heavenly bed at the lovely lodge I could have been at if our vacation had worked out. I also thought about the peace and quiet I would have gotten, and the writing I would have gotten done.

Then, I went outside and cleaned and caressed my GS bike, treating it like a garage queen, acting like one of those people who buys the bike but doesn’t ride it, keeps it clean and nice but likes the idea of riding more than the actual riding. That’s not me, but today I wanted to get some of the little things done, things that take time but need to be done eventually. Like, lube the chain, but that always needs to be done on that bike since I ride so much.

I fixed the taillight on the GS, which has been broken for over a year, but has been functional thanks to yards of duct tape. I had to replace the duct tape because the extreme heat fried it and made it non-functional. I refuse to pay BMW’s exorbitant prices to replace that piece of plastic to which the taillight attaches, proving again that the cheapest thing on a BMW motorbike is the rider. Why fix it anyway? The bike could get dropped again and the taillight broken again. Plus, it’s one of many battle scars Jewel has, much like I do. We earned every one of them.

I thought about the little porch at the lodge, empty. We will not be sitting there, drinking a cup of coffee and watching the full moon rise over the trees.

I washed my riding pants. I think they were soon going to be able to stand up by themselves, although most of the “dirt” was dust that permeated every pore. I even managed to empty all my pockets this time and didn’t send my iPod or various other things through the washing machine.

I sprayed a pair of rain pants with Scotchgard in the hope I could make the pants waterproof again. They’re old, but they’re the ones that zip all the way up and they are easy to get on quickly over my boots when I’m standing at the side of the road in a downpour!

I went to indoor cycling at the gym in an effort to work out but stay off my feet (ruined by too much dancing). If my tendons don’t heal soon, I will not be dancing for a while. That would suck.

Saddest of all, I found out the woman from the local mail store (where I have been going for about 15 years) died suddenly of a heart attack on Sunday morning. The shop will be closed Friday afternoon and all day Saturday. As my husband said, “I just talked to her last week!” How quickly and unexpectedly people can be suddenly just – gone.

All these tragedies happening have really made me think about how life is too short, not that I didn’t think of it before, but lately I especially have in light of the terrible things happening in the lives of so many people I know. Not something I’ve wanted to consider much in the past, but reality has a way of rising up and slapping a person in the face.

I am hoping for a less “down” day tomorrow. I am going to try to get out on one of the motorbikes so I can clear my head.

2 thoughts on “Random thoughts

  1. It’s not only BMW that charges high prices for small parts. I once replaced the sun visor on my Altima and it cost $65. What? And I need to replace the tail light assembly on the Jeep (I have replaced the bulb multiple times but that doesn’t fix the problem), I have heard, though, that it could cost close to $200.

    My vote is to jump on your bike today and just ride. Don’t worry about the destination. Don’t worry about the heat. Just focus on the sensation of the wind in your face, the hum of the tires on the road, the grasp of your hands on the grips as you speed up. Enjoy the bike for the reason you bought it…just to carry you away from life and its pressures and its cares. Go. We’ll all still be here when you get back.

Leave a Reply

