My new helmet!


Yes, I finally did it! I finally got the Shoei Multitec helmet that I’ve wanted since August. You might remember it from a few months ago when I tried it on, but I had to save up for it.

It was at the end of the California trip that I realized that my old helmet was “done.” It had, after all, lasted six years (way beyond its lifespan), and  about 90,000 miles. Back in August, the heat (112°) and the wind buffeting the old helmet to give me a giant headache was the convincing combination of factors, but I had to save up the almost $500 it cost to buy this helmet. Whatever they say, inflation or not, it’s still a lot of money, especially when many of us haven’t gotten a raise in years.

One of the last things my mother said to me was, “did you get the new helmet yet??!” I hadn’t, but I did after that.

I’ve wanted this Shoei Multitec for a long time. It is the best, quality-made modular helmet, in my opinion. Also, I have a “soft spot” for Shoei because several years ago a Shoei helmet saved my life. It was a bright orange RF900 that I used to wear at the track, and that’s where I was when the accident happened. I was nearly unscathed because of that helmet. I landed on my head at about 60mph, and all I got was a bruise (on my shoulder, from the armor inside the jacket I was wearing) and a slight concussion. That helmet, scratched and scuffed, is now in my classroom and serves as a reminder why kids (and adults) should wear helmets.

Anyway, I’ve worn my new helmet on two long day rides now, last weekend and this weekend, and I am amazed at how comfortable and quiet it is. It fits me perfectly, and I am sorry I waited this long to get it. I can’t wait for my summer riding season to begin because that is when I will really appreciate it.

So, here it is:

(Please ignore the “model,” a.k.a. me)

Chin bar down

 

Chin bar up

This is my best angle:

I look best in this photo!

Today was a great riding day, and I am so happy to be back on the bike. It was a good old day of almost 300 miles for me, a short day, but a good one. I love putting on the miles, so here’s to many more this year.

3 thoughts on “My new helmet!

  1. I like your helmet… I bought a new helmet a couple of weeks ago myself…. a SHOEI also… a yellow, full-face (non-modular) 1100…. I like it. I took a long, strong look at the modulars, in the end, I thought I like the non-modular the best. (I hope I don’t find out a made the wrong choice) — T

    • Tom, I would have gotten the RF1100 myself if the flip-face feature wasn’t so important to me. I went back to my old Shoei X-Eleven for a while to see if I could stand not having that flip chin bar. For a while, it was okay, but then I couldn’t handle it anymore. It’s just personal preference. My riding partner has a RF1000, and he likes it a lot. 🙂

  2. I don’t know which style of helmet would provide the maximum protection. All I can say is that it looks like the helmets from Star Wars, and theirs were not modular.

Leave a Reply

