A great diner


Today’s blog topic: Imagine you opened your own restaurant. Tell the name of your restaurant. Explain what the restaurant looks like, who works there, and what you serve.

During my motorcycle travels over several years, I rode to the “Top of the World,” where I saw a perfect place for a restaurant. It was at the top of the climb, and it was perfect; it was an old “diner” boxcar-looking building. I have often thought it would be a perfect place for a breakfast restaurant. It would take a lot of fixing up, but it would be unique when it opened. Plus, there is nothing else around in the area for riders to stop at except this location, so if it was good, and there was decent parking, riders would come.

I would call it “Cuppa Jo,” as my nickname is Jo. It would be a breakfast and lunch place, but mainly a breakfast place. It would be a place for riders  to stop between Superior and Globe.

It’s not that I am a great cook or anything, but I am respectable, and with a little work at it, I would be great. I would work there with any of my friends who would like to join me, and I would get to meet lots of fellow motorcyclists, always a plus in my book!

My hopes were dashed, though, a year or so ago when I discovered that what was left of the building had burned. How unfortunate!

2 thoughts on “A great diner

  1. Hey, I found a railroad car diner for sale in Rhode Island for $5000. So, you could save money if you buy it and move up there yourself. True, you would not have as many good riding days then. You could also move it to your ideal location east of the Valley and start Cuppa Jo. Start saving now, my friend. After all, “the road is long with many a winding turn.” Well, that’s what The Hollies told me.

    • 🙂 Thanks, Randy. I will think about it, but you know how it is when you want to make a success of something, you have to put a lot of time and money into it, mostly time. I don’t know if I want to give up riding time, at least not yet!

Leave a Reply

