A couple of hours in the dirt


The Beest at Rolls OHV

At the end of a really weird weekend, I finally got to spend some quality time on my dirt bike. It took me exactly 30 seconds to re-acclimate, and I felt wonderful the moment I got on it. I sailed over the “whoops” and flew through the turns. I wanted to ride farther and faster, but we ran out of time at the end of the day.

Hal posing while loading the bikes before we left

We did a super-easy trail, and did it about three times, but it was still dirt riding and I didn’t care. It beats just about anything else. (I guess I say that about every form of two-wheeled fun, don’t I?) And it put an end to an otherwise very depressing weekend.

It was late when we left the trails of Rolls OHV area behind, and as the full moon rose over Four Peaks, we marveled at its silvery glow. I felt happy and content for the first time in a while, and I was so grateful for the chance to be myself for a few hours.

One thought on “A couple of hours in the dirt

  1. POTD – Looks like Hal got one of his bikes repaired just in time. That’s good.

    QOTD – “It took me exactly 30 seconds to re-acclimate.” Wow. Exactly 30 seconds? What are the odds of that?

    SOTD (Speed of the Day) – You said, “I wanted to ride farther and faster….” So, how fast is comfortable on a trail and how fast is too fast?

Leave a Reply

