Pickles and Motorsickles


You know, I really hate that dumb quote. It’s from a song, which I don’t even know, but people who ride seem to quote it a lot, for whatever reason. Today, however, I used a pickle to clean the chain on my F650GS, so it might go with the occasion this time.

Yes, a pickle to clean the chain. I’ve heard this now from about 10 people, and apparently it does work. So, I tried it. Here is step one:

The pickle awaits its fate

I started working on the chain after I picked the seeds out of the pickle. I didn’t see the point of getting cucumber seeds stuck in my chain:

The cleaning properties of a pickle demonstrated here!

I know, weird, huh? I thought I would try it since this chain isn’t going to be on my bike much longer. It was adjusted too tight (not by me) when it was first put on, and a few of the “o” rings broke. I don’t really trust it, so as soon as I can afford it, it is GONE. It really makes me mad, too, because I can’t afford these costly mistakes.

Alas, a few seeds got in there:

Seeds in chain!

But, they were easy to get out.

When I finished cleaning and lubing, the chain looked clean, but then again, I never let my chain get too dirty anyway:

Cleaned, and ready to go

While I was messing around with the bike, I admired the new bracket that my brother-in-law (the “lead welder”) made for the purpose of mounting the GoPro camera:

Another professional job!

I am planning on using the GoPro tomorrow when I ride the traditional New Year’s Day ride. There should be a lot of European bikes headed out to Tortilla Flat. It should be a nice day and great ride. The temperatures have been in the 70s F. for the last couple of days, and it should be a pleasant day.

Now, for something completely different, as they used to say on the Monty Python show:

Meanwhile, as I cleaned up and put things away, I happened to spot this butterfly on the marigolds:

It kind of blends with the colors of the flowers

Maybe this is better:

Pretty

Happy New Year, everyone! Best wishes for a great 2012.

3 thoughts on “Pickles and Motorsickles

    • I think it has something to do with the acidic properties of the brine solution. At least it’s cheaper than that expensive “chain cleaner” in the can.

      Happy New Year to you as well, Rocket! Looking forward to your blog this year.

      – Jo

  1. Have your B-I-L weld on a pickle mount near the chain and you can have 24×7 chain cleaning on that bike. And a snack from the remaining pickle if you are ever caught in a blizzard.

Leave a Reply

