A novel idea


Well, it’s over. 2011 National Novel Writing Month, also known as NaNoWriMo, that is. I made it, submitting over 50,000 words yesterday for validation, which was immediate, and now I have the rough draft of a novel with which to work over the coming months. I won’t say it was easy, but I am glad I did it. I learned a lot from it, and next year I will be better prepared. I will be more ready, with a solid story line. At times I felt like I struggled to move my story forward, and then I would find a pocket of inspiration, a new idea to move the plot along (or is that “plod” along?).

Anyway, it’s done, and I will do it again next year. I am glad I decided to do it, even though it was kind of a last minute decision. As I said, I will be much better prepared next time, and maybe I will even have my class participate as well. I saw that another sixth grade class did participate, and the kids set 10,000 words as their goal, a reasonable and reachable number, I thought.

Onward and upward, as they say. It was a fun month! Thanks, NaNoWriMo!

3 thoughts on “A novel idea

  1. Congrats on plowing through an average of 1666 words per day. That makes you my favorite NaNooNaNoo writer of the year. And that is not an honor I award lightly. In fact, it is not an honor I have ever awarded. In fact, it is not really anything (except some sounds originally made by Mork from Ork).

    I like the idea of you challenging your class with some shorter word count. You can call it the Short Story Scribbling Season (or ShoStoScribSea). And then, compile all into a little book that they can take home and find when they are our age and remember that great teacher they had “back in the day.”

Leave a Reply

