Just dance


After a long stressful day at work, I find lately that the best thing for me to do is to “just dance.”

I admit, some days I drag myself there, force myself into my little Zumba dance outfit for the night, and practically crawl into that studio room. As I wait for the instructor to arrive, I stretch a little, and watch as the room fills up. People are standing around in groups of friends, some of them speaking Spanish. I am trying desperately to learn Spanish, and I am listening a little more attentively than I should just to catch words and phrases that I am trying to learn.

The instructor arrives, and the dancers move into place. Even before the music starts, the dancers’ feet begin to move, their bodies start to dip and turn. When the music starts, everyone seems to start in unison.

The dancers warm up during the first couple of songs, their energy builds, and then in the heart of the workout, everyone is energized. People sweat and move. We dance, shoulder to shoulder, and the room is packed and hot. After we have danced for more than an hour, those in the back of the room start to drop out, to leave. They are losing energy, and don’t have the stamina to hang on. The dance is like a moving train, and it slows down for no one.

Finally, the music quiets and calms, brings down the tempo of the dance. We are still dancing, but it is the cool down song. At the end, we stretch, making the movements of our arms and legs long and drawn out, slow and deliberate. At the end, we bow, and the dance is over.

With the class over, the energy rapidly dissipates. Everyone gathers up their things, their water bottles, their towels. We are all soaking wet, and we put on sweaters to keep in the warmth. I walk out to the car, slide into the seat, tired, but happy. When I get home, I am energized for the rest of the evening and I can do all the things that I need to do.

(NaNoWriMo update: 15683 total words tonight)

2 thoughts on “Just dance

  1. I am not a Zumba-er, but I feel a kindred spirit in how our multi-church choir works. We come in from our various places of work or homes, ready to join together in a shared experience. We run through a warm-up song after the conversations of joining together after a week apart die down. The director has planned the rehearsal so that we alternate between fast and slow songs.

    We take a brief bio and water break and the end of the first hour, then come back to hear a couple of stories or jokes he is trying our for our next concert. Then, the final hour of singing until we reach the “cool down” song. Then, as you noted, the energy moves on as we each depart for our own lives, satisfied that we have sung as well as we could, attaining a sound and experience far beyond what any of us could do on our own.

    • Great analogy, Randy! 🙂 Thank you!

      I, too, enjoy music, although I haven’t been singing much lately. I would imagine it is like that for an orchestra as well. Someday I hope to play in one when I get good enough on the violin.

Leave a Reply

