A hard day’s night


I am tired. This is not good because it’s only Tuesday night, especially because it’s a long rest of the week ahead. The kids are still wound up, coming off fall break, and they know they have time off at the end of this week. I, of course, do not as I am booked solid with parent conferences. Another thing I must do. I am not complaining, I think it’s important, but it’s one exhausting thing among many others.

In addition to the daily job of working hard to meet every child’s needs, there are the meetings and expectations of parents, principal, district administration, and politicians. Too many bosses, with almost no one realizing that the most important consideration should be what is best for the students.

If anyone thinks my job as a teacher is easy, I would like them to spend several days in my classroom and see all the things I do and am responsible for. Then I want to hear what they have to say.

2 thoughts on “A hard day’s night

  1. With two teachers in the family, and several others in the extended family, and having done some substitute teaching, I would never say it is easy. Extremely important, yes. Rewarding? Yes. Not easy, though. As you say, between state expectations, district, principal, parents, and even fellow teachers, every moment of every day is always being scrutinized. Hang in there, my friend. You are making a difference in the future of our kids, our community, maybe even state or country or world.

Leave a Reply

