Home


Today’s blog topic: What does “home” mean to you? How would describe what it feels like to feel “at home”? It may be something specific about the physical details of where you’d like to live, or it could be more about how you feel when you are in the right place.

Home for me is anywhere on the road. Hotel rooms, or in my own tent, I don’t care. I like how I can only take a few things, and I usually take mostly the same assortment of clothing, books, my laptop, a blanket, sleep things, and personal items. I always make sure the things I take are all my favorite, and things like makeup and lotions are all the nicest things I can afford. That way I have my own little things that are my favorites and at least on my trips I have my own space. The first thing I do is set up all my stuff in the vanity area, get my Asics shoes out of my bag, and my shower sandals. I change out of my riding clothes and get into some comfortable jeans and a t-shirt. Then I put on one of my jacket liners that looks like a regular jacket, and my riding partner and I go get something to eat.

The place doesn’t really matter, except if it’s Taos, NM. When I get there, it really feels like being home, and I hate that I don’t have much time there. I feel very connected to Taos, and I just feel good when I am there and surrounded by its beauty. I love how when I am there it is usually the beginning of autumn, the weather is cool, maybe rainy, partly cloudy, and pleasant.

Someday I would like to live in Taos, out there on the Taos Plateau with a long clear view of the Cimarron Range so I can watch the mountains change daily according to the weather. I love the sight of them whenever we approach Taos, and when I see them, I know that at last I am “home.”

Leave a Reply

