Number of the day


Today’s blog topic:

Step 1: Pick a number from 1 to 10.

Step 2: Now think of something interesting in your life, or that you’d like to have in your life, related to that number.

Two.

As in two wheels. I started out riding bicycles in 1995 when my sister wanted me to do the Best Dam Bike ride to Parker Dam, 150 miles in two days. At the time it seemed crazy-impossible, but I trained up all summer and by November, which was when the ride was held, I was ready. I had a great time, and it was the beginning of many happy miles, an interest was born. I rode road bicycles for a while, then I discovered mountain biking. Before it was over, I won a lot in cross country races, and also in downhill, over a five year period. The next stop was riding motorcycles.

I got my motorcycle endorsement on my driver’s license in 2002, struggled with finding the right bike for me, rode on the track for a while, had a couple of crashes, one of them big, and finally found my way to long-distance touring, which is what I wanted to do from the beginning. That and dirt biking, which, oddly, I don’t do that often. I still mountain bike, though, which is probably my best thing because I feel like I am good at it and not many people are, or want to be.

So, anything with two wheels has been important to me for a long time, and that’s why “2” is my number.

5 thoughts on “Number of the day

  1. I really tried to find a way to use all of the numbers for something in my life, but cannot get past four. 1 wife. 2 kids. 2-1/2 grandkids. 3 siblings…. Yeah, that’s where I keep running out of things. So, could I find a number and tell about it with regards to my life? Nothings come readily to mind. I guess that’s why you can answer the WordPress prompt questions and I have stayed with Google Blogger.

    That’s pretty cool about winning those bicycle races. Did you have the Queen song Bicycle Race in your head as your rode them? I did as I wrote this.

    • Sometimes. Most of the time by the end it was just trying to turn the pedals over one more time and knowing that the finish line was getting closer. The whole race was spent at “redline,” and after a while I had to wonder what that was doing to my body as far as long-term effects. Apparently, it was all good, though.

  2. 7 and multiples thereof. 7 age of reason. 14 discovered I was cool. 21 got married. 28 got divorced and came to America. 35 got married again. and on and on and on

Leave a Reply

