In purple fire


Amethyst inside a geode

Last night I dreamed of fire again.

I suppose I had fire on my mind because of the recent developments in the case of the Wallow fire. Two men have now been accused of setting the Wallow fire, the largest wildfire in Arizona history, by leaving a campfire unattended. This came to light  yesterday, and now the fire is on my mind again.

I dreamed this time of volcanic fire. In the dream, Four Peaks was an active volcano and began to erupt, spewing molten lava that oozed from a rift between the second and third peaks. The sky was black with ash and smoke, like the image from the Mount St. Helens eruption in 1980. I saw it from a high vantage point, as if I floated high above it and to the west. Then I saw fire between the peaks, and I thought of the amethyst mine. As if in answer, I saw purple fire explode, then burn hotly, dark purple flames licking skyward. Then the whole mountaintop imploded, and I saw all the surrounding land collapse as the effect rippled outward from the source. Then, the dream ended.

I hope to return to the scene of the Wallow fire over Labor Day weekend, and shoot more photos. I hope I find more signs of life. It should also be interesting to see what happens later in the fall, if there are any golden leaves. It’s a bit heartbreaking to think that there may only be blackened remnants of tree trunks.

2 thoughts on “In purple fire

  1. I am no dream interpreter, but it must mean something that you are having hot dreams….

    Anyway, your post made me think of the Johnny Cash song Ring of Fire. So now, those words are stuck in my head.

    I fell into a burning ring of fire.
    I went down, down, down and the flames went higher.
    And it burns, burns, burns.
    The ring of fire.
    The ring of fire.

Leave a Reply

