Ten years in the future


Today’s blog topic: Imagine it’s August 2021 – what is your life like? 

Oh GAWD I hope I am retired from teaching!!

There won’t be the fear and dread of the month of August with all the accompanying aches and pains and headaches and stomachaches from stress and dread. And I hope I have a job that I love, like copywriter or copy editor or editor or proofreader – or published author. Maybe staff photographer or video editor. Or travel show star, you know, my show, “On the Go with Jo” about traveling by motorcycle that I want to produce.

I hope I am on the road almost all the time (doing the show, you know!), only stopping at home occasionally to do laundry and check that the place is still standing. I hope I live in a small house with a small yard (no grass to cut!) with an enormous garage full of reasonably new bikes from which to choose. Of course, I find myself these days always choosing the F800ST for long distance riding, so maybe I only need the then-current version of it.

And most of all, I hope I am a lot more satisfied and happy with my life than I am now.

2 thoughts on “Ten years in the future

  1. I hope I am still around to find out how accurate your prognostication for yourself was. Hopefully, I will be close to retirement by then, although the stock market has to improve a lot to get me back on track.

    • Ah, the stock market. I pulled a bunch of money out a few years ago to buy a motorbike against all advice. Right after that, everyone lost their money and I at least had a great bike to show for it. So, who’s laughing now, huh?? It was worth the intangibles, like enjoyment for one, to take that risk. I don’t know where this economy is headed except down the toilet. We are all in the same boat, unfortunately.

Leave a Reply

